About

AquaUoS offer an innovative and unique consultancy service connecting environmental managers directly with academics to drive innovation and improve sustainability on environmental projects.

AquaUoS operates an ethos of research driven applied science to deliver sustainable environmentally sensitive solutions to river and floodplain issues around the world.

We are a non-profit environmental consulting arm of the University of Salford with a remit to connect academic research with environmental applications, to better inform external organisations of research advances and to integrate our applied work into the student curriculum to prepare them for a future in the environmental field.

Our Work

We deliver research driven environmental projects concentrating on river and valley bottom restoration and Natural Flood and Sediment Management. We work closely with our clients and impacted communities to develop projects that offer benefits to the environment and the users of the landscape. Our research into fluvial systems is employed directly on projects to create dynamic sustainable restoration and naturalisation projects throughout the UK.

Our Expertise

Our core team of geomorphologists, hydrologists, ecologists, modellers and GIS specialists work closely with University academics and students to deliver a wide range of services that facilitate environmental restoration design.

Our achievements

  • River Medlock, Manchester: Winner of the Wild Trout Trust Conservation Award 2014
  • River Trent at Arlewas: Runner up European River Restoration Prize 2016
  • Manor Road Park River Lea: highly commended at the 2019 UK River Prize awards
  • River Ribble at Long Preston: shortlisted for UK river restoration award 2013
  • Swindale Beck: Winner of the Wild Trout Trust Conservation Award 2017
  • River Naver & Mallart: Winner of the UK River Restoration Prize: Partnership & Multiple Benefit Project
  • Ennerdale Mill Dam (River Ehen): Winner of the Large Scale Habitat Enhancement Scheme Award 2018

Our Team

Dr. Neil Entwistle

t: +44 (0)161 295 3394
e: n.s.entwistle@salford.ac.uk

Dr. George Heritage

t: +44 (0)161 295 5121
e: g.l.heritage@salford.ac.uk

Sebastian Bentley

t: +44 (0)161 295 5121
e: s.g.bentley@salford.ac.uk

Dr. Robert Williamson

t: +44 (0)161 295 5121
e: r.j.williamson1@salford.ac.uk

Dr. Simon Hutchinson

t: +44 (0)161 295 2466
e: s.m.hutchinson@salford.ac.uk

Dr. Chiara Benvenuto

t: +44 (0)161 295 5141
e: c.benvenuto@salford.ac.uk

Dr. Ilaria Coscia

t: +44 (0)161 295 7097
e: i.coscia@salford.ac.uk